2024 AWS Foundation Awards
Call for Nominations


Nominate Outstanding Women Surgeons & Allies

The call for nominations for the 2024 Association of Women Surgeons Foundation Awards is now open! Help AWSF recognize exceptional women surgeons and supporters by nominating a deserving individual whose character and accomplishments reflect the mission of AWSF and meet the criteria listed below.

Selected awardees will be honored at the AWSF Awards Dinner and Gala on October 20, 2024, held in conjunction with the AWS 2024 Annual Conference and the ACS Clinical Congress in San Francisco.

Nomination deadline is Thursday, May 23, 2204.

AWS Foundation Awards

  • Dr. Nina Starr Braunwald Award: Awarded to a member or non-member surgeon in recognition of sustained, outstanding contributions to the advancement of women in surgery.
  • Dr. Olga Jonasson Distinguished Member Award: The award is given to an AWS member who, through outstanding mentorship, enables and encourages women surgeons to realize their personal and professional goals.
  • AWS Past Presidents’ Honorary Member Award: This award is given to non-members who are supportive of AWS’ goals and mission.
  • Dr. Charles W. Putnam Distinguished Mentor Award: Given to an AWS member or non-member who has a sustained record of mentoring women surgeons and is a true agent of change to create an environment in which women surgeons can achieve their personal and professional goals.
  • Dr. Sally Abston Association of Women Surgeons Distinguished Member Award: The award is given to an AWS member who, in addition to nationally recognized clinical expertise and providing outstanding mentorship, is a role model of "what I want my surgeon to be like." The recipient of this award will have demonstrated unwavering commitment to encouraging and enabling women surgeons to realize their personal and professional goals.
Submit a Nomination HERE


2024 AWSF Awards for Trainees:

  • Dr. Hilary Sanfey Outstanding Resident Award: Nominees will be surgical trainees who are in primary residency training in either general surgery or a surgical specialty at the time of nomination, and who demonstrate potential as future leaders in surgery.

  • Dr. Patricia Numann Medical Student Award: 
    This award was established to encourage and support female medical students pursuing a career in surgery. The recipient is chosen based on their potential leadership qualities or research contributions to the field of surgery, response in a personal statement, and letter of recommendation. Nominees must be in the fourth / final year of medical school at the time of nomination and have demonstrated a commitment to pursuing a career in surgery.
Submit a Trainee Nomination HERE


Questions? Contact us at [email protected].