Donate Now

The AWS Foundation is able to continue its mission because of your support and generosity. By contributing to a campaign listed below, you'll help ensure that our work continues. Online donations are quick and easy using our secure credit card transactions. The AWS Foundation welcomes donations of all sizes and payment plans, whether it's a one-time gift or monthly recurring contribution.

Your charitable contribution is tax deductible under 501(c)3 of the IRS code, to the extent allowed by law. In concert with the acceptance of any gift, an administrative assessment on certain gifts may be applied, as directed by the Foundation Trustees.

Giving through Donor-Advised Funds and stock donations is also available.
Learn more

The Empower Fund (General Operating) » Donate Online

The Empower Fund (General Operating) is a great place to contribute to our organization. Donations to this fund will be allocated according to the greatest need.

Dr. Kim Ephgrave Visiting Professor Program » Donate Online

Provides medical schools with the opportunity to request top women surgeons as speakers. Opportunities to lecture heighten the visibility of women surgeons while encouraging women medical students to pursue similar careers.

Women Surgeons in Low & Middle-Income Countries » Donate Online

Allocates funds to support women surgeons in low and middle-income countries.

Dr. Patricia Numann Medical Student Award » Donate Online

Selected based on her expressed interest in surgery and potential leadership qualities or research contributions to the field of surgery.

Starr Poster Contest for Medical Students & Residents » Donate Online

Designed to facilitate interaction and idea exchange between students interested in surgery, surgical residents, and faculty members of various institutions. We invite medical students and residents to select their best work for presentation at the annual AWS Conference. Winners receive a cash award.

AWS Past President’s Honorary Member Award » Donate Online

This award is given to non-members who are supportive of AWS’ goals and mission. It was renamed in 2007 in recognition of both the legacy and the generous endowment provided by our AWS Past Presidents.

Dr. Sally Abston Association of Women Surgeons Distinguished Member Award » Donate Online

Created to honor Dr. Sally Abston for the exemplary inspiration she gave to so many women and men throughout her career and to honor an AWS member who exemplifies a role model of "what I want my surgeon to be like."

Dr. Olga Jonasson Distinguished Member Award

This award is named in memory of Olga Jonasson, MD, who was the first female chair of an academic department of surgery and a leader in the American College of Surgeons. The award is given to an AWS member who, through outstanding mentorship, enables and encourages women surgeons to realize their personal and professional goals.

Dr. Charles W. Putnam Distinguished Mentor Award » Donate Online

The Dr. Charles W. Putnam Distinguished Mentor Award will be given to an AWS member or non-member who has a sustained record of mentoring women surgeons and is a true agent of change to create an environment in which women surgeons can achieve their personal and professional goals.