AWS provides all of the benefits for residents at a discounted group rate for universities and hospital systems. This allows groups to support residents within their own environment through AWS community, networking, education and mentorship.

Membership is available per institution. Each membership runs from July 1 through June 30 and includes a limited number of AWS memberships for the residents enrolled in your residency program, discounted advertising on the website for open positions, and all other AWS member benefits. The faculty sponsor receives a one-year membership (for an additional, reduced rate cost). All other Regular Membership benefits apply to the faculty sponsor’s membership.

NEW Annual Institutional Membership Pricing:

  • Engage Level - up to 20 Residents ($500)
  • Empower Level - up to 40 Residents ($750)
  • Excel Level - 40+ Residents ($1,250)

Become an Institutional Member Today

AWS Institutional Membership is an easy way to introduce and involve female trainees in the AWS. Benefits include full access for each trainee to the website, including resources for mentoring, professional development and job opportunities. A copy of the Pocket Mentor is also available for each resident, and they will be subscribed to eConnections.

Don’t forget!

  • Faculty sponsors do not have to be women. Any person willing to be contacted by the AWS to keep the renewal current may serve as the faculty sponsor.
  • Keep your membership current by contacting incoming residents and fellows in July of each year to make them aware of the membership and sign them up.
  • Once your membership roster is complete, consider sending an email to your trainees, outlining the benefits of the organization, suggesting they attend the annual conference, and directing them to the website.
Join Now

Institutional Member Support

Need support with your institutional membership? Review the tips and information on our AWS Institutional Member support webpage. Still have questions? Contact us at [email protected]

Support Page


Current List of Institutional Members

  • Baylor Scott & White Healthcare
  • Baylor University Medical Center
  • Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Cleveland Clinic
  • Cooper Medical School of Rowan University / Cooper University Hospital
  • Dartmouth - Hitchcock Medical Center
  • Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin
  • Duke Surgery
  • Eastern Virginia Medical School
  • George Washington University
  • Guthrie Robert Packer Hospital
  • Hackensack University Medical Center
  • Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Kuwait Surgical Society, Kuwait Medical Association
  • Lahey Hospital and Medical Center
  • Loma Linda University Health General Surgery Residency
  • Louisiana State University-Department of Surgery
  • Loyola University Medical Center
  • Maimonides Medical Center
  • Montefiore Medical Center
  • Northwell Health Surgery Service Line
  • Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
  • NYP - Weill Cornell Medicine
  • NYU Langone Medical Center
  • OHSU
  • Research Medical Center - Extant Healthcare
  • Southern Illinois University
  • Stanford Medicine
  • SUNY Downstate
  • The Medical College of Wisconsin Department of Surgery
  • The University of Kansas Department of Surgery
  • Trinity Health Ann Arbor
  • Tulane University School of Medicine
  • UCSF Department of Surgery
  • UCSF - East Bay Surgery Program
  • Univ of FL Department of Surgery
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • University of Arizona Department of Surgery
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Colorado Department of Surgery
  • University of Florida College of Medicine Jacksonville
  • University of Louisville
  • University of Michigan Medicine
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Missouri
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Tennessee College of Medicine - Chattanooga
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • University of Virginia
  • UNM
  • UW Department of Surgery
  • Virginia Commonwealth University Health
  • Washington University in St. Louis
  • West Virginia University
  • Western Michigan University Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine
  • Yale School of Medicine, Department of Surgery
*as of 02/05/2024

Administrator/Key Contact FAQ